100 East Carr St, October 2022 (N. Levy).
The first in a string of four originally identical mill houses on the south side of East Carr Street, built around 1910 by Thomas F. Lloyd to house workers in his second textile factory (later known as Durham Hosiery Mills No. 7). From the description included in the 1986 National Register application that created the Thomas F. Lloyd Historic District:
"The decoration of these four houses is restricted to diamond-shaped attic vents with pierced pinwheel designs in the center gables. All of the houses have center hall plans. The primary interior brick chimney accommodates fireplaces in one of the front rooms and the northern room in the ell; an exterior flue serves the kitchen and the southern room in the ell."
Fragment of 1915 Sanborn Fire Insurance map, showing four identical mill houses along Carr Street (here called B Road, east of Roberson Avenue - now part of South Greensboro) leading to the factory where residents worked. 100 East Carr is the furthest from the mill.
In addition to these similarities, the National Register depiction and the 1983 Carrboro Architectural & Historical Inventory it repeats almost verbatim both highlight the hedges and long tenure of a single family as features unique to 100 East Carr. Beatrice Andrews (1884-1963) was a widowed mother of five by the time she settled here, and at least three of her children appear to have worked for the cotton mill at the time of the 1930 Census. Though another couple purchased the property when Durham Hosiery Mills started selling off its worker housing in 1939, her daughter and son-in-law, Alice and Gordon Simms, were able to buy it from them in March 1945. The Simms in turn raised a daughter here, Foye Simms Dollar. She and her husband, Ernest Dollar, Sr., owned the house until 1988.